Microsoft Build 2024: What to expect

Microsoft Build 2024 will run from May 21 to 23, the annual conference focusing on AI. Here's where to watch and what to expect.

Microsoft Build 2024: What to expect
Satya Nadella, chief executive officer of Microsoft Corp., speaks during the company event on AI technologies in Jakarta, Indonesia, on Tuesday, April 30, 2024.

Microsoft Build 2024 starts this Tuesday, picking up the tech event baton from Google I/O last week and Apple's iPad event the week before. This year Microsoft's conference will again focus on AI, bearing the tagline "How will AI shape your future?"

Here's what to expect from Microsoft Build 2024.

What is Microsoft Build?

First held in 2011, Microsoft Build is the tech giant's annual U.S. developer conference. The multi-day event features keynote speeches by company executives, as well as numerous demonstrations and educational sessions for software engineers and developers. 

Microsoft Build's keynote speeches are its biggest attraction for the layman, as any significant product announcements will likely be made then.

This is the second year that Microsoft Build has been held at the Seattle Convention Center, having moved to the venue after only being held digitally from 2020 to 2022.

What can we expect at Microsoft Build 2024?

Last year's Microsoft Build keynotes unveiled the company's new AI assistant Windows Copilot, and revealed that Bing would become ChatGPT's default service for web browsing. Judging by 2024's AI theme — as well as the general tech industry's continued preoccupation with AI — there's a decent probability that we'll see more announcements along that vein this year.

At the very least, Microsoft Build 2024 is likely to offer an update on Copilot's continued development. The tech giant has been working to incorporate its AI assistant in more areas, including increasing its integration with Windows 11.

What is the schedule for Microsoft Build 2024?

This year's Microsoft Build officially kicks off on Tuesday, May 21, and will run for three days. Fortunately, you don't have to be in Seattle to get involved. Just like Google I/O last week, Microsoft Build will be held both in person and online, letting you keep up with the tech giant's latest news no matter where you are.

Microsoft Build 2024: Day 1

Day 1 of the Microsoft Build livestream will begin at 8:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. ET on Tuesday, starting with the pre-show and Imagine Cup World Championship. 

Now in its 23rd year, the Imagine Cup awards a group of students who have created an innovative tech solution to a social problem. This year's finalists are FROM YOUR EYES, whose mobile app uses AI to describe images to people with limited vision, JRE, who built a slag detection system for use in the steel casting process, and PlanRoadmap, who developed an AI-powered productivity coach to help people with ADHD.

Following this, the Microsoft Build opening keynote will commence at 9 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. ET. Set to run for two hours, the keynote will feature Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella, CTO Kevin Scott, and Executive Vice President of Experiences and Devices Rajesh Jha. Though we don't yet know exactly what Microsoft's executives will talk about, we do know that they will be touching on how AI can be used to "transform how developers work" and "drive business productivity across industries."

The first day of the Microsoft Build livestream will then end with breakout sessions from 11:30 a.m. PT / 2:30 p.m. ET to 5:30 p.m. PT / 8:30 p.m. ET.

Microsoft Build 2024: Day 2

The second day of Microsoft Build 2024 will open with a second AI-oriented keynote, this one entitled "Next generation AI for developers with the Microsoft Cloud." 

Commencing at 8:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. ET, Microsoft's Wednesday keynote will feature Executive Vice President of Cloud and AI Scott Guthrie as well as seven others from the company's leadership team. This 90-minute keynote will have a security focus, looking at using Microsoft Cloud to "build the secure and responsible AI solutions of the future."

Microsoft's livestream will then continue an hour after the conclusion of the keynote, showing breakout sessions from 10:45 a.m PT / 1:45 p.m. ET until 6:45 p.m. PT / 9:45 p.m. ET. 

Microsoft Build 2024: Day 3

Microsoft Build 2024 will conclude on Thursday with a final livestream of breakout sessions from 8:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. ET to 5:00 p.m. PT / 8:00 p.m. ET.

In addition to the keynote speeches, Microsoft Build 2024 will feature over 480 sessions across the three day event, with 251 of them offered online. Fortunately 175 of them will be recorded, so you might be able to catch up later if you miss one.

How to watch Microsoft Build 2024

All three days of Microsoft Build will be livestreamed on the official Microsoft Developer YouTube channel (the videos are embedded below). You can also view the livestream on the Microsoft Build website, though you will need to register for a free account.

Day 1: Microsoft build opening keynote and breakout sessions

Tuesday, May 21 at 8:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. ET

Day 2: 'Next generation AI for developers with the Microsoft Cloud' keynote and breakout sessions

Wednesday, May 22 at 8:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. ET

Day 3: Breakout sessions

Thursday, May 23 at 8:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. ET

What's Your Reaction?

like

dislike

love

funny

angry

sad

wow